Tentative map of Neanderthal (and Denisovan) DNA in humans

I couldn’t find one, so I made one:
neandermap

This is really tentative! And I am not a geneticist, so at this point, I’m just crossing my fingers and hoping I didn’t read any graphs backwards.

Notes:

This map shows Neanderthal DNA admixture in modern human groups (solid color) and Denisovan DNA (polka dots.) The Denisovan estimates are less exact than the Neanderthal estimates. (Also, the guys with Denisovan DNA also have Neanderthal DNA; I just don’t know how much.)

The biggest problem I ran up against was a total lack of numbers. Seriously, everyone likes quoting that “1-4% of non-African DNA is Neanderthal” stat, but no one likes breaking it down by individual country or group.

Some of the sources contradict each other–first we have papers claiming that Europeans have more Neanderthal DNA than Asians, then papers claiming that Asians have more. I went with the Asians have more estimates, since they were more recent. Also, we now think that many African groups also have some Neanderthal DNA, due to more recent back-migration of Eurasians into Africa.

Most of this map is still completely blank, even though I’m sure the data is out there somewhere. I would really appreciate if any of my readers can point me toward a good old list of Neanderthal (or Denisovan) DNA %s by country or group.

Alternatively, if you’ve had your DNA analyzed and know your Neanderthal and/or Denisovan %s, feel free to share in the comments.

When I have more data, I’ll update the map.

Sources read:

Dienekes: Neandertal admixture in modern humans

John Hawks: Neandertal ancestry iced, Neandertal introgression 1,000 genomes style

The Atlantic: The Other Neanderthal

1000 Genomes: about

Wang et al, Apparent Variation in Neanderthal Admixture among African Populations is Consistent with Gene Flow from Non-African Populations

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please, please let me know if you find some better lists of the %s of Neanderthal and Denisovan DNA in different populations.

6 thoughts on “Tentative map of Neanderthal (and Denisovan) DNA in humans

    • They recently revamped their website; looks like they’re now giving Neanderthal estimates not in %s, but # of Neanderthal variants. (My suspicion is this is a result of finding of back-migration into Africa leaving some Neanderthal there resulting in an increased estimated % for everyone.) Either way, if I can get that data, it’ll be great.

      Like

    • Its believed that modern humans from Africa who visited Europe first that bred with Neanderthals, their offspring found their way back to Africa rather than Neanderthals making their way to Africa. Neanderthals were considered white in the scientific community, as black skin was advantageous in Africa. It’d make sense brown people could endure high sun volume better than white skin hominoids.

      Like

Leave a comment